Français

F40, Birth of a Myth

L I V E
Friends

Text: Jacky FAVRE - Photos: Christelle SOMMEREISEN - Jacky FAVRE

Having decided not to go to the Finali Mondiali at Mugello, Forza Passione 2015 season should have stopped to Dreams of Sick Children. But it was not counting on Yan Denes, which invites us to a conference on the birth of the Ferrari F40, a model that has fascinated me for a very long time since it is the very source of my passion for this brand. The F40 I know it well enough, I saw a number of copies and I even run several times on board. Already in June, when Sport & Collection, I met Leonardo Fioravanti, chief designer at the time at Pininfarina. This time it's a former employee who will tell us about his time at Ferrari.

Other speakers are planned, including Jean-Claude Biver, Chairman of the watchmaking division at LVMH. He is the origin of the partnership between Hublot and Ferrari. Unfortunately after many recent trips, he could come and present the reconciliation between the two firms.

Above all, it is essential to talk about the organizer of this conference: l'AEDIL. Its purpose is simple: "Our association supports Entrepreneurship as an engine of growth and economic prosperity by valuing Creativity, Innovation and Know-how" Italian "in Luxembourg". It is the link to the economic, industrial and especially human between Italy and Luxembourg. As its president Patrick Picco, the members of this association have a strong connection with Italy, often starting at zero. To explore in more detail the tasks of the AEDIL, I invite you to visit its website.

Originally scheduled for 40 people, the conference was to take place at the Ferrari Concession Francorchamps Motors, but success has been such that it is ultimately more than 250 people who wished to be present. To respond, partially, to that request, it is ultimately the local of Autopolis who hosted the evening.

This is Patrick Picco who opened the conference by presenting the AEDIL, the program and most importantly, this event partners:

Our keynote speaker is called Luca Picco, and that is in front of a curious audience he tells his 11 years at Ferrari. His path is not trivial. It is indeed one of the few people who participated in development of the F40, to have rubbed shoulders Enzo Ferrari, and above all he was present when the latter requested that the F40 should be created. In 1986, he was employed directly in the department "test" which allows him to work with people like Dario Benuzzi or the drivers of the Scuderia.

Moreover, to introduce himself, he shows us three portraits: Dario Benuzzi, the famous test driver for Ferrari. Domenicali (well before he was Director of the Scuderia) and Enzo Ferrari. The second image shows two photos, the first in hiring, the second, almost at the end of his career while Luca Di Montezemolo presented him with the honors for his work. You notice that these are old scanned photos, made for video which I then took pictures. Quality is greatly impaired.

Luca tells us very quickly that his narrative is made of stories, he is not there for us to read the datasheet of the F40 nor to have any timeline of history. If you read "My terrible joys" of Enzo Ferrari, it's a bit the same principle. If Luca can now tell us his memories, it is primarily because he held upon his arrival in Maranello a newspaper, on which he wrote a daily commentary on his work. I will not comment on each of the extracts he told us because he alone is worthy. Here is a selection of the most memorable.

His first meeting with Enzo Ferrari, while working on a prototype of the Mondial in Fiorano. Rather impressed with the personable Ferrari, he confesses not to have conducted wide at that time.

Luca tells his ride around Maranello in a 288 GTO Evoluzione driven by Dario Benuzzi who are arrested by the Carabinieri! It's when Enzo Ferrari discovered, by chance, this GTO Evoluzione in a workshop he said: "This is the car that we must build." Luca was one of the few men present at that time. The development of the F40 was then started and the 348, presented that day internally, was no longer one that would celebrate Ferrari's 40 years as originally planned.

The presentation of the first prototype of the F40 at Fiorano. At that time, the code-named was F120, but the prospective trade name was Le Mans 3000. Name that will be in default because of the right to use the famous french track name.

Be aware that the development has been very rapid. Pininfarina, appointed designer of the brand, took 100 days to wrap the structure and mechanics of carbon and kevlar dress. The first prototype was also done quickly. Its headlights were not yet manufactured, they were replaced by black hoods. The mirrors, they were made of wood!

Luca also explains some stories on development, the lightweight coating the interior to save weight, the dynamic tests with the first performance graphs and much later, the last engine F40 product.

Luca was also involved in the realization of the F40 of Gianni Agnelli who could not drive a car with a clutch. This has been adapted with an automatic clutch. He continues with the LM developments (back to the famous name) in Michelotto, Bridgestone's integration at Ferrari, one of the first final drafts by Pininfarina.

The previous slides were divided into two sections as it deems essential in this work: creativity and innovation. The last major deems value is leadership. And who better than Enzo Ferrari can symbolize this notion? Luca has previously mentioned his first meeting with "El Commendatore", here this time one that will be one of the last. In February 1988, 18th more precisely, Enzo arrived in the factory at noon and asked to stop work, pushing everything and install tables. It was his 90th birthday. He invited the entire plant to eat with him, explaining that it would be his last birthday. He thanked his staff and told them that it was now up to them to continue the Ferrari. As a gift, each received a miniature of the F40 with his name. On August 14, 1988 Italy lost an ambassador.

It is impossible for me to make you feel the emotion afforded by Luca Picco in 1h30 but the whole room has unanimously applauded him. We learned many things, but none is in a book. Can I only hope that one day Luca publishes his newspaper. If he reads me ...

As you have guessed, a F40 throne before us from the beginning. It is that of the former president of the Club Ferrari Luxembourg from the early 90s, who received it through the help of Piero Lardi! A rare F40 still first-hand that rolls regularly.

And finally, this is Andrea Militello, an Italian-Luxenbourgeois designer at Ferrari style center, came as spectactor who explains the links between style and conception of cars today, but also derived products, including watches Hublot, made in this center.

Here is the 1992 F40 that displays 64000km. It is maintained with care.

Then another, accompanied by a work of Yan Denes, which exposed a beautiful collection of paintings.

A F50 prisoner of its barriers ...

And an unprecedented (for us) Enzo Nero Daytona with carbon rims and Tan leather. Very beautiful!

Francorchamps Motors came with a 488 GTB two-tone.

A huge thanks to Luca Picco for his story, in brief part, it has dedicated to practically everyone.

For a Ferrari enthusiast like me and especially of the F40, this event has exceeded my expectations. Among the surprises was expected Dario Benuzzi in person. Unfortunately he had to stay at the bedside of his sick mother. This does not detract from the quality of the evening which was offered to us.

Again, a big thank you to Patrick Picco and theAEDIL, to Yan Denes, to Luca Picco of courseand all partners: Ferrari, Francorchamps Motors, Hublot, Autopolis, Maison Moderne, the Ferrari Club Luxembourg, Steffen Traiteur who regaled us and all the other sponsors.

Share your thoughts and comments on Facebook

Back to Expositions

Contact
Rules
Sitemap

English

F40, Naissance d'un Mythe

L I V E
Bonnes adresses

Texte: Jacky FAVRE - Photos: Christelle SOMMEREISEN - Jacky FAVRE

Ayant décidé de ne pas aller aux Finali Mondiali au Mugello, la saison 2015 Forza Passione aurait dû s'arrêter à Rêves d'Enfants Malades. Mais c'était sans compter sur Yan Denes, qui nous invita à une conférence sur la naissance de la Ferrari F40, modèle qui me fascine depuis très longtemps puisqu'il est à l'origine même de ma passion pour cette Marque. La F40 je la connais assez bien, j'en ai vu un certain nombre et j'ai même roulé à plusieurs reprises à bord. Déjà en juin dernier, lors de Sport & Collection, j'ai pu rencontrer Leonardo Fioravanti, chef designer à l'époque chez Pininfarina. Cette fois c'est un ancien employé qui va nous raconter son passage chez Ferrari.

D'autres intervenants sont prévus, notamment Jean-Claude Biver, président de la division Horlogerie chez LVMH. Il est à l'origine du partenariat entre Hublot et Ferrari. Malheureusement suite à de nombreux voyages récents, il n'a pu venir nous présenter le rapprochement entre les deux firmes.

Mais avant tout, il est essentiel de vous parler de l'organisateur de cette conférence: l'AEDIL ou l'Association des Entrepreneurs et Dirigeants Italo-Luxembourgeois. Sa raison d'être est simple: "Notre association soutient l’Entrepreneuriat comme moteur de croissance et de prospérité économique par la valorisation de la Créativité, l’Innovation et le Savoir-Faire « à l’italienne » au Luxembourg". Elle est le lien à la fois économique, industriel mais surtout humain entre l'Italie et le Luxembourg. Tout comme son président Patrick Picco, les membres de cette association ont un lien très fort avec l'Italie, à commencer bien souvent par l'origine. Pour découvrir plus en détail les missions de l'AEDIL, je vous invite à parcourir son site internet.

Initialement prévue pour 40 personnes, la conférence devait se dérouler à la Concession Ferrari Francorchamps Motors, mais le succès a été tel que c'est finalement plus de 250 personnes qui ont souhaité être présents. Afin de répondre, partiellement, à cette demande, ce sont finalement les locaux d'Autopolis qui ont accueilli la soirée.

C'est Patrick Picco qui ouvre la conférence en présentant l'AEDIL, le programme et surtout, les partenaires de cette soirée:

Notre intervenant principal se nomme Luca Picco, et c'est devant un auditoire curieux qu'il nous raconte ses 11 années passées chez Ferrari. Son parcours n'est pas banal. Il est en effet une des rares personnes ayant participé au développement de la F40, à avoir côtoyé Enzo Ferrari, et surtout il était présent le jour où ce dernier a demandé que la F40 soit créée. En 1986, il est employé directement dans le département "essai" ce qui lui permet de collaborer avec des personnes comme Dario Benuzzi ou encore les pilotes de la Scuderia.

D'ailleurs, pour se présenter, il nous montre trois portraits: Dario Benuzzi, le célèbre pilote essayeur de la Ferrari. Stefano Domenicali (bien avant qu'il soit directeur de la Scuderia) et Enzo Ferrari. La seconde image montre deux photos, la première à l'embauche, la seconde, quasiment à la fin de sa carrière alors que Luca De Montezemolo lui remet les honneurs pour son travail. Vous constatez qu'il s'agit d'anciennes photos scannées, mise en vidéo et dont j'ai ensuite fait des photos. La qualité en est fortement altérée.

Luca nous précise très vite que son récit est fait d'anecdotes, qu'il n'est pas là pour nous lire la fiche technique de la F40 ni pour avoir la moindre chronologie de l'histoire. Si vous avez lu "Mes joies terribles" d'Enzo Ferrari, c'est un peu le même principe. Si Luca peut aujourd'hui nous raconter ses souvenirs, c'est avant tout car il a tenu dès son arrivée à Maranello un journal, sur lequel il écrivait chaque jour un commentaire sur son travail. Je ne vais pas commenter chacun des extraits qu'il nous a raconté, car lui seul en est à la hauteur. Voici une selection des plus mémorables.

Sa première rencontre avec Enzo Ferrari, alors qu'il travaillait sur un prototype de la Mondial à Fiorano. Plutôt impressionné par la prestance de Ferrari, il nous avoue ne pas en avoir mené large à ce moment là.

Luca raconte sa balade aux alentours de Maranello dans une 288 GTO Evoluzione conduite par Dario Benuzzi qui se font arrêter par les carabinieri ! C'est lorsque Enzo Ferrari a découvert, par hasard, cette GTO Evoluzione dans un atelier qu'il a dit: "C'est cette voiture que nous devons construire". Luca faisait partie des quelques hommes présents à ce moment là. Le développement de la F40 a alors démarré et la 348, présentée ce jour-là en interne, n'était alors plus celle qui célèbrerait les 40ans de Ferrari comme prévu initialement.

La présentation du premier prototype de la F40 à Fiorano. A ce moment là, le nom de code était F120, mais le nom commercial pressenti était 3000 Le Mans. Appellation qui sera mise en défaut à cause du droit d'utilisation de la célèbre piste de la Sarthe.

Il faut savoir que le développement a été très rapide. Pininfarina, alors designer attitré de la Marque, a eu 100 jours pour envelopper la structure et la mécanique d'une robe de carbone et de kevlar. Le premier proto a lui aussi été fait rapidement. Ses phares n'étaient pas encore fabriqués, ils ont été remplacés par des caches noirs. Les rétroviseurs, eux, étaient en bois!

Luca nous explique encore quelques anecdotes sur le développement, le revêtement ultra léger de l'habitacle pour gagner du poids, les essais dynamiques avec les premiers graphes de performance et bien plus tard, le dernier moteur de F40 produit.

Luca a également participé à la réalisation de la F40 de Gianni Agnelli qui ne pouvait conduire une voiture avec un embrayage. Celle-ci a été adaptée avec un embrayage automatique. Il poursuit avec les développements LM (on retrouve la fameuse appellation) chez Michelotto, l'intégration de Bridgestone chez Ferrari, et une des premières esquisses définitive de chez Pininfarina.

Les précédentes diapositives étaient divisées en deux sections qu'il juge essentielles dans ce travail: la créativité et l'innovation. La dernière valeur qu'il juge importante est le leadership. Et qui mieux que Enzo Ferrari peut symboliser cette notion ? Luca a évoqué précédemment sa première rencontre avec "El Commendatore", voici cette fois celle qui sera une des dernières. En février 1988, le 18 plus précisément, Enzo est arrivé dans l'usine à midi et a demandé d'arrêter le travail, de tout pousser et d'installer des tables. C'était son 90ème anniversaire. Il a invité toute l'usine à manger avec lui en expliquant que ce serait son dernier anniversaire. Il a remercié son personnel et leur a dit que c'était maintenant à eux de faire continuer la Ferrari. En cadeau, chacun a reçu une miniature de la F40 à son nom. Le 14 Aout 1988 l'Italie perdait un ambassadeur.

Il m'est impossible de vous faire ressentir l'émotion procurée par Luca Picco durant 1h30, mais toute la salle l'a unanimement applaudi. Nous avons appris beaucoup de choses, mais aucune ne se trouve dans un livre. Puis-je seulement espérer que Luca publie un jour son journal. S'il me lit...

Comme vous l'avez deviné, une F40 trône devant nous depuis le début. Il s'agit de celle de l'ancien président du Club Ferrari Luxembourg du début des années 90, qui l'a reçu grâce à l'aide de Piero Lardi! Une rare F40 encore première main et qui roule régulièrement.

Et pour finir, c'est Andrea Militello, designer Italio-Luxembourgeois du centre de style interne à Ferrari, venu en tant que spectateur à la conférence qui explique les liens entre le style et la conception d'une voiture aujourd'hui, mais aussi des produits dérivés, notamment les montres Hublot, dessinées en interne.

Voici donc cette F40 de 1992 qui affiche 64000km. Elle est entretenue avec soin.

Puis une autre, accompagnée d'une oeuvre de Yan Denes, qui exposait une très belle collection de toiles.

Une F50 prisonnière de ses barrières...

Et une inédite (pour nous) Enzo Nero Daytona, avec jantes carbone et sellerie Tan. Très belle!

Francorchamps Motors présentait également une 488 GTB bi-ton.

Un immense Merci à Luca Picco pour son récit, en partie résumé, qu'il a dédicacé à pratiquement tout le monde.

Pour un passionné comme moi de Ferrari et de la F40 en particulier, cette soirée a dépassé toutes mes attentes. Parmi les surprises était attendu Dario Benuzzi en personne. Malheureusement il a dû rester au chevet de sa maman malade. Cela n'enlève rien à la qualité de cette soirée qui nous a été offerte.

Encore une fois, un grand merci à Patrick Picco et à l'AEDIL, à Yan Denes, à Luca Picco évidemment et tous les partenaires: Ferrari, Francorchamps Motors, Hublot, Autopolis, Maison Moderne, le Ferrari Club Luxembourg, Steffen Traiteur qui nous a régalé et tous les autres sponsors.

Partagez vos impressions et vos commentaires sur Facebook

Retour Exposition

Contact
Charte
Plan du site